Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Music of the Heart by Katie Ashley


Music of the Heart by Katie Ashley

Book Name: Music of the Heart

Author: Katie Ashley

Genre/Tags: Romance, Good Girl, Tattooed Rockstars

Publisher: Self-Published



My Rating:


For Abby Renard, the plan was supposed to be simple—join her brothers’ band on the last leg of their summer tour and decide if she’s finally ready for the limelight by becoming its fourth member. Of course, she never imagined stumbling onto the wrong tour bus at Rock Nation would accidentally land her in the bed of Jake Slater, the notorious womanizing lead singer of Runaway Train. When he mistakes her for one of his groupie’s, Abby quickly lets him know she sure as hell isn't in his bed on purpose.

Jake Slater never imagined the angel who fell into his bed would resist his charms by promptly kneeing him in the balls. Of course, the fact she seems like a prissy choir girl makes her anything but his type. So he is more than surprised when after betting Abby she wouldn’t last a week on their tour bus, she is more than willing to prove him wrong. But as Jake’s personal life begins to implode around him, he finds an unlikely ally in Abby. He’s never met a woman he can talk to, joke with, or most importantly make music with.

As the week starts comes to a close, neither Abby nor Jake is ready to let go. Can a sweetheart Country songstress and a bad boy of Rock N Roll actually have a future together?


                                                         My Review                               

This is my first Katie Ashley book and she is definitely going on my most favourite author list. I loved this book. It’s a Contemporary new adult drama involving tattooed rockstars, sassy heroine and lots of romance. My favourite kind of book!

This book starts because of an "accidential" meeting when Abby is supposed to be getting on her brothers tour bus so she can begin touring with them and seeing if being a Rockstar is what she wants to do with her life.  A Roadie directs Abby to the wrong bus and before she has a chance to realize she is on the road with the Mega superstars - Runaway Train. A mistake lands her in bed with the infamous Jake Slater, bad boy extraordinaire and lead singer of the famous rock band. Add in a knee to the nuts, instant chemistry, and a dare---sparks start flying! Jake makes a bet with Abby that she would not be able to handle a week on their tour bus and Abby accepting it stay with Runaway Train for a whole week proving that she’s not some spoil brat and can survive living with four loud and horny rockers. Oh what can happen in just a week! The chemistry and the banter between Jake and Abby is outstanding! I could not get enough and did not want it to end! 

Abby Renard grew up as the baby girl to a family of missionaries. She is innocent, funny, adorable and sassy. I loved her!! She’s a girl unafraid to speak her mind, with an actual, working backbone. 

"You're on Runaway Train's bus?!!!!" "Yes," she replied. At his next statement, she snorted. "Well, I've only managed to do the drummer and the bassist so far, bu tI'm thinking I could get a threesome going and knock out the others. Maybe I'll gang-bang with the roadies when we stop for dinner." 
It literally had me laughing and crying to laughing over and over again. 

Jake is the classic rockstar persona; tattoos, groupies and an ego to fill a whole stadium.
“I’m Jake Fucking Slater, and I can do whatever the hell I want.” 

But, he is just a tortured soul in hiding and a romantic in the making.
“Most of all, it’s that I want someone like you to want me—just for me, not for Jake Slater the singer of Runaway Train.” I smacked my hand hard against my chest. “For what’s really inside me.” 

Abby & Jake time together was as sweet as it was tumultuous and there were parts where they were together that I laughed like a lunatic and some parts I literally cried over. There were parts where I wanted to continue smacking Jake’s head until he got some sense into him. But for the part, all I wanted to do was fold my hands and pray to get myself a man like him.

Jake's love for his mother was so pure and sweet. I loved watching them together. She was so sweet and the way she always supported Jake & Abby was amazing. It was really heart breaking to read the part where she gave in to cancer and left the world.

Oh don't think this was an easy ride for the two of them. Misunderstandings have a way of literally tearing a good thing a part. Determination had a way of making things come back together and the ultimate sadness has a way of making us realize how precious the ones we love are.

A feel-good  book, a sweet story about two young, musically talented people, beautiful inside and out. A story about the melodies we play and how our hearts respond to them. About the actions that don't have to define us and redemption, in the eyes of the person that means the most.

Buy this book at:

Sunday, April 28, 2013

Cover Reveal- Empyreal Illusions (The Inferno Unleashed #1)


COVER REVEAL

Empyreal Illusions (The Inferno Unleashe #1) by Jake Bonsignore


Book Name: Empyreal Illusions (The Inferno Unleashed #1)


Author Name: Jake Bonsignore


Genre: YA Fantasy/ Dystopian

Expected Publishing Date: May 2013 (e-book); July 2013 (paperback)

Book Design: Regina Wamba of Mae I Design and Photography


A THIN LINE SEPARATES JUSTICE FROM REVENGE….





Fourteen-year-old Breena Taljain’s dreary existence in the slums of Purgaire comes to a sudden end when a chance encounter with a criminal mastermind known as the Patriarch goes horridly wrong. His assault on her for refusing to pay for her mother’s addiction leaves her comatose and teetering on the edge of life and death.



Galbrecht Atalir is a washed-up doctor struggling to overcome his inner demons through alcohol and aggression. He never quite recovered from the unsolved murder of his family seven years prior. When he discovers Breena as his newest patient, he knows at once that the Patriarch is the one who eluded him for almost a decade.



The medicine Galbrecht gives Breena draws her into a heavenly paradise. When it ebbs away, though, the recurring trauma plunges her into treacherous hinterlands. There, Breena must learn to find power in courage, hope, and love to overcome fiends of hatred bent on permanently ending her existence.



With justice burning in his heart, Galbrecht begins a race against time to seek out the Patriarch in the underworld before Breena loses her struggle against the ever-darkening terrors of her mind….






Author Bio:

I have been writing since I was in grade school and had my first novel, Descendant of Strife, published in 2007. It is about an orphaned sorcerer who learns dark secrets of his past that end up entangling him in a secret war between heaven and hell that spans nearly half a millennium.
Becoming an author always been a dream of mine since as far back as I can remember. I think it started, though, with a brief writing exercise I was given in kindergarten. We were supposed to write a two to three sentence story (or maybe a paragraph) to do with Easter. I ended up writing a little over a page. Yep…go figure.

I ended up graduating high school when I was 16 years old and attending St. John’s University in New York for a while. Then I moved to Florida and graduated from the University of South Florida with Magna Cum Laude honors and a BS degree in Business Administration.
I’ve recently completed my 2nd and 3rd novels, Empyreal Illusions and Awakening the Fire (YA fantasy). They are part of The Inferno Unleashed series.

“It takes courage to live, yes, but it takes true bravery to stand your ground in a world aligned against you.”

At one point or another, everybody inevitably feels that they are bearing the weight of the world on their shoulders and their back is giving in. For Breena Taljain, the central protagonist of Empyreal Illusions, it’s as commonplace of a feeling as breathing. Surprisingly enough, the idea for it came to me while I was sitting in the university library before a final exam. I remember writing the first five pages instead of studying but somehow managed to pull off a good grade anyway!

Now I am getting ready to begin my fourth novel, which will be set in an entirely different universe than Empyreal Illusions. It will be a YA romance with a tinge of fantasy. Stay tuned :)

Of course, I love reading as much as I do writing. Outside of my literary pursuits, though, I enjoy playing sports and I’m a fitness enthusiast. There’s nothing that a good workout can’t help solve!

Thanks for your support and for being part of the adventure (and what a one it is and will be)!!!


Author Contact Links: 


Excerpts:

“Make it two more shots, will you?”

Galbrecht Atalir slid a coin across the counter and watched with unnerving patience as Korvan greedily scooped it up. He tilted his head from side to side until he heard the bones in his neck crack and ran a hand through his greased hair. He had not yet reached his limits. Thirteen hearty gulps of The Laughing Banshee’sstrongest whiskey had filled his gut with comfortable warmth. It also made him the center of attention for a handful of unkempt thugs. They knew better than to trouble him, though. They had seen him fight before. All he wanted was to down another half-dozen shots and return to the broken pallet in his shack. It was not too much to ask for, really.

His days had grown increasingly meaningless as of late and his evenings were no better. Sometimes, only the idea of wasting his liver away on the cheap liquor The Laughing Banshee offered kept him going. He could scarcely remember the last time he felt joy or saw beauty in the little things the world had to offer.

The chains that bind us, Galbrecht thought wryly. He casually offered a slight nod of thanks to Korvan as he finally brought more liquor. They have to break eventually.

“Took you long enough, Korvan,” he stated matter-of-factly. He exhaled deeply and let his aggression exude out his pores.

The barkeep shrugged. “What can I say? I’m a busy man. One of my girls walked out on me today and I haven’t found a replacement.”

Galbrecht ignored him and took another shot that sent a river of fire down his belly. Who was he trying to fool? He would forget his past once he started believing in a benevolent God. That, he knew, would never happen. A man did not lose everything as he had and still have conviction. Faith was a clutch for the weak and an excuse for the depraved. No superior being worthy of devotion would have forced thirty-six years of hell upon him.

Each day was typically harder than the last. He was certain he would reach his breaking point soon. What will another day at the hospital bring next?

Galbrecht toiled away in the rundown facility in western Purgaire from sunrise to sunset. The reason for becoming a doctor in the first place grew more indistinct with each passing day. After each shift he retreated into alcoholism. He had long since grown sick of Purgaire and his meaningless existence. Perhaps it was time to give up his mad mission and return to Aghiddo. He was wrong to think he could always stay away.

So that’s your answer? You will accept defeat and crawl back there? Pitiful!

Aghiddo was the place where his spirit had died almost a decade ago. Life had ceased to have any purpose for him then. Would it be any different this time around?

I doubt it.

Galbrecht exhaled deeply and drank from the other shot glass. Liquor was the only panacea for his troubling memories. Deep down, he knew that he could not push them aside forever. No amount of alcohol amended the past. Bringing dozens of the sick and wounded back from the brink of death did not, either. There was just something about tending to the infirm that made moving on impossible.

He had not always been this way, though. Once he had looked forward to a promising future. He had had a loving wife, two beautiful daughters, and a cozy home. What more could one ask for? Like most good things, though, his comfortable life in Aghiddo came to a terrible, sudden end seven years ago. He could not forget that fateful moment when he returned from work to find his home ransacked and the halls saturated with blood….

Something inside Galbrecht—then, Ghariel Lodan—snapped that day. His conviction in the world had crumbled. How could it be otherwise when his family perished under torture? Nobody deserved such a fate. Was he supposed to accept his losses and move on? Facing reality had never been harder. He had kissed Adine goodbye earlier that morning; who would have known that his wife would be a broken ragdoll just hours later? His daughters had not fared better, either. Jaila and her younger sister, Relyn, had always been so energetic. To see their fragile limbs bent at humanly impossible angles had been scarring.

Even now, reminiscing threatened to push him into an outrage.

A blunt object had crushed their bones and organs. A closer inspection of their welts and fractures told Galbrecht it was a chain. The mere thought of how they had suffered still sent shivers down his spine. Whoever had killed them had purposely dragged it out.

The constables had ceased the investigation after a few weeks. They told him the lack of evidence made it pointless. Why waste their time on a case when there was nothing for them to gain in return? Favors did not come free anywhere. He was mad to think otherwise, they insisted. Of course, that was their excuse for everything. Life goes on, they had said.

The hell it does, he recalled replying. They were not there when he cremated his family and scattered their ashes in the quiet lake where Adine had agreed to marry him. The constables did not have to live with the guilt of being apart in their darkest hour. He had vowed that proper justice would be his.

His quest to find the truth soon became a maddening obsession. He began to roam the streets at night and created an alternate persona to blend in with the seedy underworld of Aghiddo. He swore to find the answers the constables refused to seek out. Until he did, his family would never rest in peace.

Of course, it was not long before the callous, ruthless facade he had created became one with the man he had been in years past.

I’ve embraced darkness to find light and lost my way within.

“Give me two more, Korvan.”

Hear me, wherever you are. I will find you. ‘Why’ doesn’t matter anymore. You can’t elude me for eternity. Someday…someday I’ll climb out of this rut and hunt you anew.

“I said two more.”

Galbrecht glared at him icily and partially rose off his seat. Korvan’s refusal to listen made his blood boil. His stormy demeanor screamed violence.

Korvan sniveled but did exactly as the doctor commanded. He never turned down coins.

“You’ll be reusing the same glasses. Too bad if you don’t like it.”

He threw a silver onto the bar counter. “Oh? And why is that?”

Korvan nodded and began to pour the liquor. “I told you before. One of my girls walked out on me and I’m too busy to make things pretty for you. It’s all going to the same place, so what does it matter?” He paused and rubbed his chin worrisomely. “She’ll see what a mistake it was to walk out that door. She’ll come crying for me to take her back and I won’t.”

Galbrecht ignored him. He finished the trio of shots in rapid succession and sat in silence as more recollections resurfaced. Why? Just give me solace for one evening!Seven years since his family’s horrid butchering had passed without reward, the last three of which he had whittled away in Purgaire. Failure greeted him at every corner. Closure eluded him.

His obsession on finding the one that murdered his family had consumed his life. Eventually, the despair of his countless failures nearly drove him insane. How could someone disappear without a trace?

You’ve given up. You let Purgaire smother you.

Galbrecht ignored the voice of reason and let his memories wash over him again.

Thursday, April 25, 2013



Blood Flows Deep in the Empire by N. Isabelle Blanco

Book Name: Blood Flows Deep in the Empire

Author Name: N. Isabelle Blanco

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Erotica

Publisher: The Writer's Coffee Shop
Dyletri, God of Fertility, has locked away his powers. No woman is allowed to touch him, not until he can return his long-dead lover back to life. All he has to do is sacrifice one human girl, a girl who unlocks his powers and rips his dormant lust right out of his body. Trapped by his promise, Dyletri has no choice but to watch Ismini die, no matter how much he wants her. 

Yet the darkness of his calling is spiraling within him, demanding he claim the human as his. If he goes back on his promise, the energy of the Fates will cause untold destruction in the Universe. That doesn’t change how Dyletri’s begun exhibiting symptoms that point to more than just lust. How does he allow Ismini to die when she’s come to own him from the inside out?

Desire and torment spiral into something much darker than obsession, more turbulent than an addiction, and something much more brutal than a mere soul-mating. As a war is being rekindled right under his nose, Dyletri will have to come to terms with a destiny eleven thousand years in the making. He thought he’d known what path his future would take, but he’d been wrong. Now the one woman he truly loves might pay the price for his decision.

Blood Flows Deep in the Empire is the first in a series that will pit free-will against Destiny, Destiny against Fate, and love against brutal desire. Everyone likes to think they have a choice as to who they end up with, but as they rise to face the greatest threat they’ve ever known, even the Gods will learn they have to bend to Destiny’s whim to survive.

                 My Review                           


Wow. I never expected this book to so good. But, I freaking love it. I definitely find there to be a strong element of creativity in this book. My most favorite genre is supernatural/paranormal. My second most favorite is erotica. This book series has the best of both worlds.  Hats off to the author for putting the best of both genres together so well into one story. 

The story starts about 11,000 years ago, when the God of fertility, Salicyar, watch Earth being flooded and most of mankind be wiped out. In this tragedy, he also looses his beloved, Dimithinia. With a prophecy of her soul twin being born in the modern world and sacrificing the said soul to bring back his beloved, Salicyar, now known as Dyletri, settles for the long haul.

As ages go by, the story focuses on the modern day New York,USA, and we are introduced to Ismini, the twin soul destined to bring Dimithinia back. When Dyletri goes to check on her, the both are knocked off their feat(metaphorically, ofcourse!) by the force of the attraction the feel for each other at the very instant. Hence, starts their journey to defy the fates, who are hell-bent on collecting the sacrifice promised to them and leting their love prevail.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book from the first page to the very last. It was humorous and very, very exciting. All of the other gods were snarky and very sarcastic towards each other so that was definitely fun. The interaction of the gods and the human females( namely, Ismini and her friend, Eve) were too witty and funny that had me crackling like a lunatic. 

Blood Flows Deep in the Empire is the first paranormal erotic romance from that I've read and it was definitely one satisfying read. It was seriously hot, sexy and I just loved Dyletri talking dirty to Ismini. Their sex scenes though. Holy smokes...hot, seriously hott! his book was so erotic and I found myself literally clenching my thighs.

The character development  was good. The characters were original and I loved the different elements that they were all they were gifted with. 

All in all, it was a very satisfying read and i look forward to other books in the series.

Buy this book at:

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Book tour- Blood flows deep in the empire


BOOK TOUR 

Blood Flows Deep in the Empire by N. Isabelle Blanco


Book Name: Blood Flows Deep in the Empire

Author Name: N. Isabelle Blanco

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Erotica

Published Date: March 7, 2013





Dyletri, God of Fertility, has locked away his powers. No woman is allowed to touch him, not until he can return his long-dead lover back to life. All he has to do is sacrifice one human girl, a girl who unlocks his powers and rips his dormant lust right out of his body. Trapped by his promise, Dyletri has no choice but to watch Ismini die, no matter how much he wants her. 

Yet the darkness of his calling is spiraling within him, demanding he claim the human as his. If he goes back on his promise, the energy of the Fates will cause untold destruction in the Universe. That doesn’t change how Dyletri’s begun exhibiting symptoms that point to more than just lust. How does he allow Ismini to die when she’s come to own him from the inside out?

Desire and torment spiral into something much darker than obsession, more turbulent than an addiction, and something much more brutal than a mere soul-mating. As a war is being rekindled right under his nose, Dyletri will have to come to terms with a destiny eleven thousand years in the making. He thought he’d known what path his future would take, but he’d been wrong. Now the one woman he truly loves might pay the price for his decision.

Blood Flows Deep in the Empire is the first in a series that will pit free-will against Destiny, Destiny against Fate, and love against brutal desire. Everyone likes to think they have a choice as to who they end up with, but as they rise to face the greatest threat they’ve ever known, even the Gods will learn they have to bend to Destiny’s whim to survive.



Buy this book at:

Author Bio:
N. Isabelle Blanco was born in Queens, NY (USA). At age 3, due to an odd fascination with studying her mother’s handwriting, she had already begun to read and write. By the time she’d reached kindergarten, she had an extensive vocabulary and her obsession with words began to bleed into every aspect of her life. An avid reader in her teens, a fascination with Japanese anime eventually led her to the universe of fanfiction. 

Her on again, off again hobby for the next ten years, She amassed a following of fans that, by her own admission, she would never be able to live without. It was those fans who encouraged her to step beyond the fanfiction realm and try her talent in the publishing world.

Author Contact Links: 


MY REVIEW


Wow. I never expected this book to so good. But, I freaking love it. I definitely find there to be a strong element of creativity in this book. My most favorite genre is supernatural/paranormal. My second most favorite is erotica. This book series has the best of both worlds.  Hats off to the author for putting the best of both genres together so well into one story. 

The story starts about 11,000 years ago, when the God of fertility, Salicyar, watch Earth being flooded and most of mankind be wiped out. In this tragedy, he also looses his beloved, Dimithinia. With a prophecy of her soul twin being born in the modern world and sacrificing the said soul to bring back his beloved, Salicyar, now known as Dyletri, settles for the long haul.

As ages go by, the story focuses on the modern day New York,USA, and we are introduced to Ismini, the twin soul destined to bring Dimithinia back. When Dyletri goes to check on her, the both are knocked off their feat(metaphorically, ofcourse!) by the force of the attraction the feel for each other at the very instant. Hence, starts their journey to defy the fates, who are hell-bent on collecting the sacrifice promised to them and leting their love prevail.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book from the first page to the very last. It was humorous and very, very exciting. All of the other gods were snarky and very sarcastic towards each other so that was definitely fun. The interaction of the gods and the human females( namely, Ismini and her friend, Eve) were too witty and funny that had me crackling like a lunatic. 

Blood Flows Deep in the Empire is the first paranormal erotic romance from that I've read and it was definitely one satisfying read. It was seriously hot, sexy and I just loved Dyletri talking dirty to Ismini. Their sex scenes though. Holy smokes...hot, seriously hott! his book was so erotic and I found myself literally clenching my thighs.

The character development  was good. The characters were original and I loved the different elements that they were all they were gifted with. 

All in all, it was a very satisfying read and i look forward to other books in the series.

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Cover Reveal- Infraction (Breach #2)


COVER REVEAL

Infraction (Breach #2) by K.I. Lynn


Book Name: Infraction (Breach #2)

Author Name: K.I. Lynn

Genre: Erotic Romance 

Expected Publishing Date: TBD


Infraction is the Followup to Breach (Breach #1) by K. I. Lynn

Book Name: Breach (Breach#1)

Author Name: K.I. Lynn

Genre: Erotica, Romance

Published Date: April 24, 2013


Delilah Palmer has control of her life and outward personality, blocking the truth just below the surface. A fa├žade meant to be normal and hide the scars of her childhood. She’s made a good life for herself, became a lawyer, and is free from the tortured past that haunts her daily. Until he comes along and breaks open the cracks. 

Nathan Thorne has a past of his own. On the surface he is loved by all, personable, extroverted; everything Delilah isn’t. Hidden beneath is a dark and tormented man that only Delilah has to power to unveil.

Crammed in a small office together they see through each other’s masks, and the draw becomes too much, igniting an explosive relationship. Holloway and Holloway Law has a strict non-fraternization policy, forcing them to conceal their breach. Despite their efforts, separation becomes impossible, deceptions escalate, and Nathan has trouble coping; teetering on the edge of being overtaken by his past demons. 

What secrets does he harbor that could keep him from giving in? What keeps him from healing and moving forward? And Delilah, where does she fit into all this turmoil?

Can they accept love and deal with all the trials that come their way when secrets are exposed? Or will they fall through the cracks of their pasts and be consumed by all that haunts them?



Author Bio:

K.I. Lynn spent her life in the arts, everything from music to painting and ceramics, then to writing. Characters have always run around in her head, acting out their stories, but it wasn’t until later in life she would put them to pen. It would turn out to be the one thing she was really passionate about.

Since she began posting stories online, she’s garnered acclaim for her diverse stories and hard hitting writing style. Two stories and characters are never the same, her brain moving through different ideas faster than she can write them down as it also plots its quest for world domination…or cheese. Whichever is easier to obtain… Usually it’s cheese.

Author Contact Links: 






Wednesday, April 17, 2013



Into The Dark(Vol 1-4) by Milly Silver

Book Name: Into The Dark( Vol 1-4)

    Author: Milly Siver

   Genre/Tags: Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Alternate Universe

   Publisher: Whit Hot Books






Love the fast-paced action in The Hunger Games Trilogy?
Want to relive the romance of The Twilight Saga?

This new Young Adult series is for you!

"The only three people in the world who I truly loved were my best friend, Ben, my Uncle Spencer and his fiancee, Irene. I am now grateful for what I didn't know on that sunny afternoon. One of them would soon be lost to me. The other two, I was destined to kill without hesitation or remorse.
It wasn't premeditated.
It was what needed to be done.
So I did it."

Success means love. Failure a death sentence.

When seventeen-year-old Oxford student Emily Baxter steps forward to become part of the search and rescue team for her kidnapped family member, she sees it as her last chance to put things right. Despite her seizures and being ripped between parallel universes, Emily is determined to get back to living a normal life. But first Emily has to join forces with the mysterious Gifted & Talented set and the darkly beautiful Henry Seadon. And survive. Killing the Misery-Makers who get in their way is a necessary evil.


                 My Review                           


I got this book as a gift from author in exchange for an honest review.
Disclaimer: This is an overall combined review for all the four volumes of the series.

Did you all see the official blurb??

Love the fast-paced action in The Hunger Games Trilogy?
Want to relive the romance of The Twilight Saga?

This new Young Adult series is for you!

I love The Hunger Games and I most definitely love everything Twilight. So yeah, I was pretty much excited about reading this series. And I have to say, It. Did. Not. Disappoint.

 The plot is unusual but very interesting. The protagonist Emily Baxter has had black outs since she turned thirteen and every time she passes out, she finds herself in some alternate universe. Places that she doesn’t even know but those are some kind of parallel universe. In these parallel worlds she has to run, hide and do anything that’s possible to save herself from The Misery-makers because once she’s captured she’ll go into an indefinite coma in the real world.

Interesting, isn’t it?  There’s more!

Once she starts her college at Oxford U, she finds herself face to face with this hot, sexy, mysterious enigma, Henry Seadon. Three years her senior and part of an elite club called G&T, he catches the eye of our girl and we see them falling for each other in a whirlwind romance.
Surely, both of them have their secrets. Henry and his team are researching on a project that can help Emily with her problems of black-outs. But they have to trust each other I order to do that.

WHAT WORKED
The story was fast-paced, kept up the interest and the intrigue, hanging you guessing at every turn. Since I love action sequences, I have to say that the author well maintained the required amount of action-suspense-drama.
This book is written in “British-English” which provides authenticity to the book as the story is set in the backdrop of England, specifically London and Oxford. The story flows smoothly and the author does not use complex vocabulary which suits the book. This book is easy to read, understand, and follow. 

The development of the characters was great. We see Emily commit a horrible act of betrayal in the beginning, and as the story progresses that one act sticks with her, and the way she deals with it and makes the wrong, right again was good. We also see her juggling her new social and college life along with her alternate reality one in a very authentic way that anyone can relate too. She’s shown as no super-woman but just a 18 year old girl gives her character credibility.

Henry lives upto his reputation of mysterious, sexy guy till the very end, which was good with respect to the plot of the book.

The characterisation of all the side characters was also good.

WHAT DIDN’T WORK (I recommend you to read the book, it’s worth it. Then come back to read this section)
Though the book was good overall, it left a lot of questions unanswered.

By the end of the series we learn that the little girl who was helping Emily was her own imagination, a psychological disposition of her own brain. If that’s true then that shouldn’t know anything more than what Emily knows. Yet, she told Emily about Henry and The Logician. She also knew where Irene was held captive. How’s that possible since Emily doesn’t know a dime about those things.

Who are these misery makers and what are they doing in Emily’s parallel universe??

We read Henry and his team talking about The Misery-makers and their leader. Also, that these creatures are collecting weapons and building force to broke war on the G&T team. Again, who are these misery makers and why are they recruiting people from real world to declare war in some alternate reality??

How do the misery-makers know that Emily is a Networker and they have to target her?

And lastly, when in the very end, the entire team comes back after rescuing Irene, Emily acts as if there were no problems between her and Henry and everything is hearts & roses again. Although I liked it happened because those two make a really lovey-dovey cute couple, yet the change of heart was too abrupt.

RECOMMENDATION
I recommend this book to every YA reader. The entire series consisting of 4 volumes will take just a little over 2 hours. So, that’s not a big time commitment either. I give you my word you’ll love this series despite what I said in the above section. You are not gonna regret it.

Buy this book at: